The Al-Saud dynasty

The Al-Saud dynasty, the sons of Ibn Saud, and principal sons of principal princes

Line of succession of the Al-Saud

(The year 1745 was when Mohammed bin Saud gave refuge to the Moslem scholar, Mohammed bin Abdul-Wahab, whose strict interpretation of Islam is known as Wahabism. The period until 1818 is known as the first Saudi state. The period between 1824 and 1891 is known as the second Saudi state. During this time some sheikhs ruled more than once. The third Saudi state began in 1902 when Ibn Saud seized control of Riyadh. By the Islamic calendar, the centenary of this event was in 1999.)

Dates Name Reason for end of rule Relationship to predecessor
1745-65 Mohammed bin Saud Death
1765-1803 Abdul-Aziz Assassinated Son
1803-1814 Saud Death Son
1814-1818 Abdullah Executed Son
1820 Mishari Lost control Brother
1824-34 Turki Assassinated Distant cousin
1834-38 Faisal Captured by enemies Son
1839-41 Khalid Death Distant cousin
1841-43 Abdullah Deposed Very distant cousin
1843-65 Faisal Death Very distant cousin
1867-71 Abdullah Deposed Son
1871-75 Saud Death Brother
1875 Abdul-Rahman Lost control Brother
1875-89 Abdullah Death Brother
1889-91 Abdul-Rahman Forced to flee Brother
1902-53 Abdul-Aziz (Ibn Saud) Died Son
1953-64 Saud Deposed Son
1964-75 Faisal Assassinated Half-brother
1975-82 Khalid Death Half-brother
1982- Fahd Half-brother

The surviving sons of King Abdul-Aziz (Ibn Saud)

(Ibn Saud fathered 44 sons by 17 different wives. By the time he died in 1953, 35 of them were
still alive. This number had been reduced to 24 by the summer of 2000.)

Son Year of birth Mother
Fahd 1921 Hassa bint Ahmad al-Sudairi
Abdullah 1923 Al Fadha bint Asi al-Shuraim
Bandar 1923 Bazza
Musaid 1923 Jauhara bint Saad al-Sudairi
Sultan 1924 Hassa bint Ahmad al-Sudairi
Mishal 1926 Shahida
Mitab 1928 Shahida
Abdul-Rahman 1931 Hassa bint Ahmad al-Sudairi
Talal 1931 Munaiyir
Badr 1933 Haiya bint Saad al-Sudairi
Nayef 1933 Hassa bint Ahmad al-Sudairi
Nawaf 1933 Munaiyir
Turki 1934 Hassa bint Ahmad al-Sudairi
Fawwaz 1934 Bazza
Abdul-Illah 1935 Haiya bint Saad al-Sudairi
Salman 1936 Hassa bint Ahmad al-Sudairi
Majid 1937 Mudhi
Ahmad 1940 Hassa bint Ahmad al-Sudairi
Mamdouh 1940 Nouf bint al-Shalan
Abdul-Majid 1940 Haiya bint Saad al-Sudairi
Hidlul 1941 Saida al-Yamaniyah
Mashur 1942 Nouf bint al-Shalan
Sattam 1943 Mudhi
Miqrin 1943 Baraka al-Yamaniyah

Principal sons of principal princes

Sons of the late King Faisal

Khalid, born 1941, governor of Asir province
Saud, born 1941, foreign minister since 1975
Turki, born 1945, ambassador to Britain

Sons of the so-called "Sudairi Seven"

Fahd, born 1921, king and prime minister since 1982

Khalid, born 1947
Saud, born 1950, deputy head of external intelligence
Mohammed, born 1950, governor of Eastern province
Sultan, born 1951, president of Youth Welfare
Abdul-Aziz, minister of state, chief of council of ministers' court

Sultan, born 1924, second deputy prime minister since 1982 and minister of defence and aviation

Khalid, born 1949, assistant minister of defence
Fahd, born 1950, governor of Tabuk
Faisal, born 1950, ministry of planning/deputy minister
Bandar, born 1943, ambassador to US since 1983
Turki, ministry of information/deputy minister

Abdul-Rahman, born 1931, vice-minister of defence and aviation since 1962


Nayef, born 1933, minister of interior

Saud, ambassador to Spain
Mohammed, assistant minister of interior for security affairs

Turki, born 1934, lives in a hotel in Cairo

Faisal, adviser in the oil ministry

Salman, born 1936, governor of Riyadh province since 1962

Fahd, businessman
Sultan, former astronaut, head of tourism commission
Abdul-Aziz, deputy minister of oil
Faisal, owner of Al-Sharq al-Awsat newspaper

Ahmad, born 1940, vice-minister of interior since 1978

Nayef, in army special forces

Sons of Crown Prince Abdullah, born 1923, crown prince, first deputy prime minister,
commander of the national guard.

Mitab, deputy commander of national guard
Abdul-Aziz, born 1964, adviser in his father's court
Faisal, adviser in his father's court